Empower Partnerships Program Unites Global Disability Advocates

Map of Empower Partnerships for Inclusive Communities. States involved were: Arizona, California, Washington D.C., Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, New York, Oregon, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, and Wisconsin. Countries involved were: Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, India, Israel, Kenya, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Nigeria, Serbia, South Korea, Tajikistan, Ukraine, and U.S.
U.S. organizations partner with global disability rights advocates to build inclusive communities

Inclusive classrooms.  Empowered self-advocates.  Independent living.  Media-savvy activists.  Accessible health services.  Adapted sports. Access to Justice.  English literacy. Protection from violence.

All these accomplishments -- and more -- are the results of a new model for partnership and professional international exchange, involving 57 organizations from 20 countries, including the U.S.

Empower Partnerships for Inclusive Communities, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and administered by MIUSA, supported creation of sustainable linkages between organizations in the U.S. and 19 other countries,  Through face-to-face professional exchange, collaborative projects and virtual dialogue, Empower Partnership teams are increasing access for people with disabilities in communities around the world.

Empower Partnerships demonstrates the U.S. Department of State’s commitment to placing disability rights at the core of U.S. public diplomacy efforts, promoting disability inclusive communities and advancing disability rights through international exchange.